Skip to content

Bourne Identity: a spectacular movie; a visual treat and one for your brain too.

June 3, 2009

Bourne Identity is the first movie in the Bourne series. Based on the popular book by the same name by author Robert Ludlum, it’s the story of a CIA agent who is sent to perform a mission; but ends up losing his memory and ending up as a severe liability to the organization.

The whole movie revolves around Jason Bourne’s search for who he is and how he does all this while managing to evade one of the most advanced secret agencies in the world: the CIA.

Although it has been observed that most of the movies that have been made based on popular books turn out to be a worthless venture (say Da Vinci code: most who saw it said the book was splendid and the movie sucked totally), the Bourne franchise is different. The action, drama, wits and most of all the actors have worked seamlessly in a wonderful combination, making this movie a fantastic visual and brain treat.

Matt Damon is easily the most impressive as Jason Bourne. While Matt has no great prior experience in action roles before this (few movies such as Courage under fire, Saving Private Ryan to name a few; none in a role that combined being the central character and full fledged action), he has delivered a stunning performance I must say. The ease with which he performs all the action sequences is simply shocking. I must say Jason Bourne is a landmark role for Matt Damon. The action, the thinking of the character Jason, his reactions, bewilderment (imagine being able to say how many people are there in a hotel, describe the various exits are, who are the most dangerous, the registration of all the cars parked outside, which is likely to carry a gun; all this with just a span of 2 minutes of walking in to the hotel and not know who you are) and all the quirks and nuances everything is brought alive picture perfect by Matt to the screen.

Here’s the dialogue that’s my favourite in Bourne Identity.

Jason Bourne: Who has a safety deposit box full of… money and six passports and a gun? Who has a bank account number in their hip? I come in here, and the first thing I’m doing is I’m catching the sightlines and looking for an exit.
Marie: I see the exit sign too. I’m not worried. I mean, you were shot. People do all kinds of weird and amazing stuff when they are scared.
Jason Bourne: I can tell you the license plate numbers of all six cars outside. I can tell you that our waitress is left-handed and the guy sitting up at the counter weighs two hundred fifteen pounds and knows how to handle himself. I know the best place to look for a gun is the cab of the gray truck outside, and at this altitude, I can run flat out for a half mile before my hands start shaking. Now why would I know that? How can I know that and not know who I am?

The other actors are not really worth mentioning; save Franka Potente who plays the role of Maureen, the person who is helping Jason remember everything. Her performance is quite good; but not as much as Matt Damon’s. All through the movie all you enjoy is the sheer skill, ability, agility, intuition and senses of Jason Bourne; you forget that he’s fictional and really start to believe that such a character exists. Such is the effect of Jason Bourne’s depiction by Matt Damon.

If you have not seen this movie, go see it. What are you waiting for; Christmas??

From → Movies, Novels

One Comment
  1. Bourne series is one of my most favorite spy flicks as well! The first time I saw Bourne Identity I was quote shocked as I was a fan of the Robert Ludlum’s Bourne series and the movie had very little to with the book. But that lasted only a few seconds. The rest of the time I was at the edge of my seat enjoying the action. And remember the Gypsy scene from Goa in Bourne Supremacy? I wish there were more hollywood action films based in India …

Leave a Reply

