Skip to content

Chicken a la carte: a truly shocking video; drives home the point well

May 30, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

As I was seeing this video, my insides were churning. It was an odd, sinking feeling inside. I mean, sure, everyone know that the food shortage is a burning issue. But this video goes a step further in highlighting how bad the issue really is.

The video starts off very inconspicuously, with not a glimmer of the true intentions of the video. It’s certainly hit me like a torpedo, when the main course was served (literally and figuratively) and has changed my attitude a lot. Although I am a person who believes in not wasting food and daily try to cut down wastage (thus not much of my eating habits will be changed); this video has also taken my thinking in a different direction. It has also made me think about the various things that I have got right here: family, creature comforts and so on and how scarcely I am thankful, from the bottom of my heart, for this fact. Sure I pray every night to God to take care of all my family members, relatives and friends; I do not thank him for giving me them and everything. Now, I will remember this for the rest of my life; every time I pray to the Lord; this will certainly come to my mind.

Truth to be said, it’s a video that brings out disgust and sympathy in one easily: the way the children react to the left-over from that eating joint. Also shocking was the fact that this was the daily bread for the children (hope you noticed that; the kids ran over joyously to the man bringing in the leftovers; it most certainly was a regular practice possibly daily). This certainly I hope has changed the way you look at everything: ranging from food and resources to family, friends and even comforts that have been given to you in this lifetime.

I definitely was not inspired by the lead India movement video. But this certainly has inspired me to do something in my own small way. I don’t want a worldwide movement or anything. I just want to do my own bit to contribute to eradication of world hunger and get others to do the same; because the people who suffer from this certainly have done nothing wrong to deserve such a pitiful state.

I was looking for a purpose in life. Perhaps this could be one of them. I am not sure, however if I want to make this a full time affair; because I do not feel from the bottom of my heart that this is what I want to do. In such cases, I feel I am betraying the whole affair when I am not involved wholly. Still I’d like to do something about the world hunger and lack food – most certainly.

I did not bother searching for more videos or photos or anything of that sort. I don’t think any will be necessary; the video is more than enough and talks eons about the issue and surely can cause the mind of any cold-minded person to start thinking.

Kudos! To Ferdinand Dimadura for creating such a video that doesn’t fear treading this issue and throwing it at people in it’s most raw, appalling and yet true form. Kudos!

From → Miscellaneous

One Comment
  1. i agree… simple video which implies upon the underlying meaning…

Leave a Reply

